Water Palace Taman Ujung

photo: leramulina

Taman Ujung was built in 1909 by the last king of Karangasem, I Gusti Bagus Jelantik, who was also known as Anak Agung Agung Ketut Karangasem Anglurah and was in power from 1909 to 1945.

photo: leramulina

The palace is located in Seraya village in Karangasem district. Taman Ujung is a huge park with three artificial reservoirs and a small palace in the heart of one of them. There are several buildings and pavilions, fountains, beautiful paths, stairs and turkeys freely walking in the park. Taman Ujung is sometimes called the sister of Tirta Gangga, another water complex in Karangasem.

The palace was twice destroyed by natural elements. In 1963, it survived the Agung eruption when hot ash fell on buildings and the park. In 1979, there was a major earthquake. Each time, the park was rebuilt.

the gallery at the entrance to the park; photo: leramulina

In Indonesian language the word ujung means "peak", "tip". Taman is "garden". Also this place is mentioned under the name of Sukasada Park.

The territory of the park covers about 10 hectares of space near the ocean.

the bridge leading to the palace over a pond on the north side; photo: leramulina

the bridge leading to the palace over the pond on the south side; photo: leramulina

the bridge leading to the palace over the pond on the south side; photo: leramulina

The Palace was built as a place for official meetings of heads and delegations. The main pavilion houses an exhibition of photographs of Bali royal dynasties and neighboring islands. Previously, visitors could enter the humble bedroom of the ruler of Karangasem, one of the four rooms of the palace. But lately, the doors to it have been closed.

the royal chambers currently closed to visitors

Visitors are only allowed to enter the two rooms of the palace, which, however, are empty.

photo: leramulina

The complex has undergone several reconstructions and extensions. Including the increase in the number of water bodies.

photo: leramulina

There is a legend that in ancient times, King Karangasem was rumoured to have people in the vicinity who used black magic to weaken his power. The ruler ordered his soldiers to arrest all suspects. All suspects were gathered in a field on the site of the current palace to await the king's sentence. And he spared no one. This place has had a terrible reputation for a long time. And the Balinese do not recommend visiting this place at night, because it is believed that there are ghosts.

This is why the central water body of the complex is called Kolam Dirah and this name is associated with the legend of Witch Queen Calonarang.

The architecture of the park and palace combines Balinese and European influences, as can be seen in the patterned columns, statues, details of ponds and gazebos. The architects were Dutchman Van Den Hentz and Chineseman Loto Ang. European influence in the use of stained-glass windows for the palace is particularly noticeable.

bas-reliefs in the palace interior depicting scenes from the Ramayana; photo: leramulina

photo: leramulina

photo: leramulina

Construction of the park began with the creation of the main pond in 1901. The entire complex was completed in 1921.

photo: leramulina

In the northwestern part of the park there are cottages for visitors who would like to stay overnight. It is a 4-star resort with a swimming pool, which is called Taman Sourgavi.

There is also a Balinese temple and a holy spring in the area. The most beautiful views are from the hill, located on the western side of the park. From there you can admire the Lombok Strait and the view of Mount Lempuyang.

view of the park from the western hill; photo: leramulina

The park is very well maintained and beautiful. Many flowers, fruit trees.

photo: leramulina

Honeymooners come here very often for photo shoots. The atmosphere in the park is quiet and peaceful.

photo: leramulina

photo: leramulina

If you come to the park, it's best to be early in the morning. First, there won't be many visitors. And secondly, you will not suffer from the heat, because the space of the park is quite open and there are not so many shadows.

the pavilion on the hill on the west side of the park; photo: leramulina

photo: leramulina

The entrance to the palace costs Rp 50,000 for adults. There are about a dozen shops in front of the gate that sell food, drinks and souvenirs.

Share

Comments